Saving time versus saving money

I was a SAHM for 13 years. During that time, I would make anything I could that would save us money (laundry soap, fabric softener, cleaners, body care items, homemade mixes, cereals, granola, protein bars, etc.) Because I was a SAHM, I had the time and energy to do this. It also helped me to feel more like a help-meet to hubby because I was working hard to stretch his hard-earned money.

However, when I started working outside the home, things changed. Suddenly, I am spending most of my time away from home. Yet, I’m still home schooling, which demands more of my energy reserves, which are already running low by the time I get home from work.

Now add to that the life verse I picked for myself when I was a SAHM — “She does him good and not harm all the days of her life.” I was still feeling the pressure (from my own high expectations) to continue making all of the above items I mentioned. Yet, in trying to continue this, I was wearing myself out. And when Mama is worn out, you don’t want to be around her! Trust me — it ain’t pretty! I get very crabby and weepy when I am exhausted.

Finally, I had the wisdom to see that if I still wanted to “do him good and not harm all the days of his life,” I needed to be a happy wife who still had some energy at the end of the day. I finally opted to quit making my own grapenuts cereal, as well as the homemade granola and protein bars. Those three things are VERY time-consuming. I realized that what it was costing me in the time spent, not to mention the energy it took from me, it was no longer worth the extra savings.

And guess what? Things are a lot more relaxed and peaceful because I learned to let those things go. There is a reason the Bible tells us, “To everything there is a season.”

2 thoughts on “Saving time versus saving money

  1. This is such a good point. Sometimes the lengths we go to save money actually can end up harming our relationships with others – so I’m glad that you can come to a situation where you’ve found a happy medium and love those you’re around. I know that I couldn’t have the time to home make soaps and cleaners, but if that was a hobby I could do with my husband then maybe I would do it! 🙂

  2. Great point – I often get caught up saving money that I lose sight of the bigger picture. Penny-wise and pound foolish 🙂

Leave a Reply

