Good , Better, or Best

It is easy to get caught up in a myriad of church activities. Granted, being involved in a church is a very good thing. In our family, I have learned to take a different view on this. We were hit greatly by the economic crunch, so doing regular date nights with my hubby just isn’t something we do very often due to the cost.

Since I also work outside the home, when I am off work, I want to be at home. Being on the go all the time does not set well with me physically or emotionally. I greatly treasure my time at home.

That being said, I still want to have those “date nights” with my hubby. Our solution — when dd has youth on Sunday night and small group on Wednesday nights, we have our “dates” at home. We look forward to those nights every week. We try our best to guard that time from other obligations, but occasionally, we realize that other things may come up. It is a very “cheap” date, but the time we have invested in each other and our relationship is PRICELESS and PRECIOUS. After 25 years of marriage, we are like newlyweds.

I had to learn to “think outside of the box” and go from choosing the good thing or the better thing to the best thing. To me, the best thing was that treasured alone time with hubby.Do I regret giving up my Sunday night small group or Wednesday night women’s study? Not at all! The rewards I have reaped by putting my marriage above my church activities are absolutely worth it!!!

Leave a Reply

