Vacation

Had a great time on my first evening and my first full day of vacation.

Tuesday was our monthly gals’ night out.  It is when all the of ladies from our extended family, plus a few close friends will meet to celebrate the birthdays for that month.  I am the only one locally who has a December birthday, so I chose to go to a Chinese restaurant.  We had a wonderful time of laughter, sharing, and talking about what is going on with all of us.  Heard some more stories from the recent tornado.  One elderly couple lost everything.  As if that wasn’t bad enough, he failed to renew their home owners insurance the last time it was due, so they really lost everything, with nothing to help them regain their footing after such devastation.

DD had a friend spend the night Tuesday (another home schooler), and we picked up my mom early Wednesday morning.  We headed out to do some shopping.  We went to Target, Old Navy, Carson’s, and Books a Million.  I got so excited when we walked into Books a Million.  They had LOTS of Dr. Who stuff.  My daughter promptly told me to exit the store.  (She was going to pick out some things for me, and didn’t want me to see.)  Thankfully, she let me stay long enough to help her friend find a good devotional book for another friend.

Once we left that mall, we went to Pier One and Bed, Bath, and Beyond.  I found a really neat vase at Pier One for a fantastic price.  It will replace another vase that no longer matches the decor in the family room.

Next, we went to Kohl’s.  Since it’s my birthday month, I had a card to get $10 off a $10 purchase.  I found some fall kitchen towels that were around 75% off and used my card to purchase those.

By that time, we were hungry, so we headed over to McAllister’s Deli for lunch.  It was so busy that we were lucky to find a place to sit.

After that, we went to Kirkland’s.  I’ve never been there.  As soon as I walked in the door, I looked at some of the decor and said, “I’m in love!”  So many really neat things to use to decorate your home.  However, I only spent $3.00 there.  Most of the decor has been changed in our house.  DH wants to get a new picture for the living room.  I told him that I found some pictures (LOTS of pictures) that I think he would really like.  I just need him to go out there with me since he gets to make the decision for that room.  (Side note here — I will eventually post some of the before and after pictures of what I’ve done in the house.)

We finished off our shopping by visiting Hobby Lobby.

We were all exhausted by the time we got home.  In fact, dd didn’t even go to her small group last night.  It was a very fun day.  My mom was very happy to get so many names crossed off her shopping list.  And I was pleased with myself because after visiting so many stores, I only spent around $20, and that included lunch!

Leave a Reply

