Homemade Laundry Soap

Liquid Laundry Soap
3 Pints Water
1/3 bar Fels Naptha Soap, grated
1/2 cup Washing Soda (Arm and Hammer, NOT baking soda though!!)
1/2 cup 20 Mule Team Borax
2 Gallon bucket to mix it in
1 Quart hot water
Hot Water
Mix Fels Naptha soap in a saucepan with 3 pints hot water and heat on low until dissolved. Stir in Washing Soda and Borax. Stir until thickened, and remove from heat. Add 1 Quart Hot Water to 2 gallon Bucket. Add soap mixture, and mix well. Fill bucket with hot water, and mix well. Set aside for 24 hours, or until mixture thickens. Use 1/2 cup of mixture per load.

NOTE: This will not make lots of bubbles! You can find the Fels Naptha soap in the laundry aisle.  For those in my city, I get the washing soda and Fels Naptha soap at Kroger because I can’t find it anywhere else. If you can’t find it you can use Ivory or the soap you like. You can also add a few drops of essential oil to make a fragrant laundry soap.
THIS STUFF IS WONDERFUL! I WILL NEVER GO BACK TO STORE-BOUGHT LAUNDRY SOAP!

Powdered Laundry Detergent
1 cup grated Fels Naptha Soap
1/2 cup washing soda
1/2 cup 20 mule team borax

Mix and store in airtight container or bag. For light loads, use 1 tablespoon. For heavy loads, use 2 tablespoons. (I have not personally tried this one because I like liquid laundry soap since I wash in cold water.)

2 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Soap

  1. Hi! I haven’t been online in a bit, so I JUST saw your post! I posted a similar recipe to this (the recipe I use has slightly different measurements but same ingredients) and I LOVE it too! I don’t have Kroeger up here, but I get my Fels Naptha at Wal-Mart (it’s under a buck!). Love the scent. I just wanted to share the purchase info with you just in case. You can also find it at Amazon, but it is a little more $$$ than Wal-Mart is. And for those that don’t like the scent of Fels Naptha, there is also another bar laundry soap (again at Wal-Mart for about the same price) that has a more flowery scent you can use, called Zote.

    • I spoke to a manager at our Walmart a few years ago and asked him if he knew that lots of women were now making their own laundry soap and that Walmart didn’t carry most of the ingredients. He was shocked, but very interested. He quickly grabbed a small notebook and asked me to tell him what ingredients they needed to start carrying. Not only do they now carry the ingredients, but ALL THREE OF THEM are located right next to each other in the laundry soap aisle! No more hunting to find what you need!

Leave a Reply

