Final day of vacation

Today is my final day of vacation.  I did a bit of shopping.  While out, I found one of my favorite holiday creamers — white chocolate raspberry.  One of the first things I did when I got home was to make a cup of coffee so I could have some of the creamer.

My six days of vacation went by way too fast.  But I still managed to get quite a bit accomplished.

The day before my vacation, I got a professional writing assignment for four devotions.  (I write for Pathways to God, which is a quarterly devotional, much like Our Daily Bread.)  I’m not one to procrastinate, even though the deadline isn’t until some time in March.  However, as I read through the scriptures I’d been assigned, I thought, “Oh boy, this is going to be a tough one.”  I got out my Bible and read through all the scriptures.  Felt no inspiration when finished.  Set Bible aside and decided to just pray and ponder a bit more.  Next day, pulled out five different versions of the Bible, hoping to spark some inspiration.   Again, nothing.

bibles

bibles (Photo credit: fancycwabs)

Back to prayer.  Pulled out my Spirit Filled Life Study NT.  Still no inspiration.  I was feeling very frustrated at this point because vacation is quickly coming to an end, and I really wanted to get the assignments done.  Continued to pray for some divine inspiration.  Sat down with my Bible again and finally, the words and thoughts began to flow.  Before I knew it I had the rough drafts done for all four assignments.  And the one that had me stumped the most turned out to be the best one of the four!   Woohoo!!!

jump for joy photo: Joy Jump.jpg

Leave a Reply

