Gods at War

So, I invited you to come back today to see how my multi-tasking came back to “bite” me.  Well, I read an absolutely FANTASTIC book — as in, one of the BEST BOOKS I’VE EVER READ.  It was:

So, I’m reading the book, getting convicted of some things from the very beginning of the book.  However, when I got to the chapter entitled “The God of Achievement,” I noticed that I relaxed a bit because I was thinking, “Oh, this doesn’t come close to fitting me because I’m not trying to climb some corporate ladder and stepping on people in the process.”

The author describes how many people love to make to-do lists, and take great pride in conquering those lists.  After all, we like to do things that can be seen and noticed by others.  Umm…yes, I do.  (sigh)  Busted again!!!  In fact, he even had the audacity to ask, “How often do you intend to spend time with God, only to find at the end of the day, that it’s the one thing on your list that you never got around to?”  (Umm, yes, I understand.  That question made me cringe too.)

While I was deeply convicted over and over throughout the book, it was a much-needed book.  I realized that I was getting too caught up in things of this world (some of which were actually GOOD things), but their position on my priority list had gotten out of order.

I feel much more “balanced” after having read the book.  My focus has changed a lot this week, as well as my attitude.  I’ve noticed that my joy has increased and I have a deeper sense of peace in my heart.

If you haven’t read the book yet, put it at the top of your priority list!!  It is a must-read!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

