Dangers of Playing the Ouija Board

When I was a young teen, I was playing the Ouija Board with a friend who was spending the night. At that time, I didn’t know the Lord, so I didn’t know that we really shouldn’t be playing with this dangerous object. However, looking back on that night, I believe the Lord used it to show me a spiritual truth that is worth discussing.

That night, I kept asking the Ouija board if I had a guardian angel. First, it simply denied it. I kept pushing the issue, asking who my guardian angel was. I noticed that it seemed to take on a mind of its own, and appeared to be getting very upset by my question. It finally said I had a “child keeper.” Of all things, the name it gave me was a Polish name (I am 1/2 Polish), and when I visited the cemetery several months later, there was that name! It was rather creepy, to say the least.

However, after becoming a Christian, I learned that everything God does, Satan tries to imitate. So why would it be any different when it comes to God giving us guardian angels? Why wouldn’t Satan want to mimic that since he mimics all that our Father does? I believe that my “child keeper” is nothing more than a demon who is specifically assigned to me with a mission to destroy me and keep me out of God’s will. That put a whole new twist on spiritual warfare for me.

Just a side note here: That same night, I noticed that Ouija Boards are manufactured in Salem, Massachusetts. Once I saw that, I never played it again.

A few years later, once I was saved, I realized the dangers of even having a Ouija Board in the house. I decided that I needed to get rid of it, but since I was the only one in the home who was saved, I wanted to wait until a time when everyone else was gone. I searched the closet in my brothers’ room where we kept all of the games. It wasn’t there. I assumed that Mom must have put it in the attic. I checked there, but still couldn’t find it. Yet, I knew it was still in the house somewhere. I decided to pray about it. The next time I was home alone, I climbed in the attic again. At the very top of the stairs sat that Ouija Board! Even if Mom had been in the attic, she wouldn’t have been messing with that Board, nor would she have put it in that location. I knew the Lord had placed that Ouija Board there for me so that I could rid of it!

Here is another interesting story involving a Ouija Board:
My friend (Teresa) was at a party when she was a teen. The kids decided to get out the Ouija Board. Since Teresa was a Christian who knew about the evils behind this “toy,” she began to do spiritual warfare and bind the spirits from speaking through the Ouija Board. The kids began to get very frustrated that they were unable to get any answers from the Board. When they asked, “Why won’t you answer any of our questions,” the Ouija Board spelled out, “T-E-R-E-S-A.” What a powerful demonstration of the power of spiritual warfare, even for young teens! Believe me — it is an experience which Teresa will NEVER forget! (Me either!)

 

Leave a Reply

