Devotions

I’ve really been feeling led to spend time memorizing the Word.  I am also doing a study by Priscilla Shirer called THE ARMOR OF GOD.  I will do a day of my bible study, then I start searching the Word, waiting for the Lord to show me what He wants me to see and meditate upon.

Here are some of the scriptures I’ve felt led to memorize this week:

Psalm 4:8 Modern English Version (MEV)

I will both lie down in peace and sleep;
    for You, Lord,
    make me dwell safely and securely.

Psalm 94:19 Modern English Version (MEV)

19 When there is a multitude of worries within me,
    Your comforts delight my soul.

Proverbs 2:10-12 Modern English Version (MEV)

10 When wisdom enters your heart,
    and knowledge is pleasant to your soul,
11 discretion will preserve you;
    understanding will keep you,
12 to deliver you from the way of the evil man.

Psalm 16:2 Modern English Version (MEV)

I have said to the Lord, “You are my Lord;
    my welfare has no existence outside of You.”

Psalm 16:8-9 Modern English Version (MEV)

I have set the Lord always before me;
    because He is at my right hand,
    I will not be moved.

Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices;
    my flesh also will rest in security.

I was reading through Galatians last night when part of a verse literally popped off the page at me.  It was something I’ve known for years, something that is very basic, but something of which I needed to be reminded again for a certain situation I am currently facing.  It was these words from Galatians 5:16:

I can’t even put into words the difference it has made in me to really focus on a verse or two long enough to memorize it, and to keep reciting it over and over to myself, even the next couple of days.  I have been working some really hard hours at work, swinging from days to midnights to afternoons, back to days, and some of those shifts are 12 hours.  Usually, I get very weepy when I feel exhausted.  Yet, since I’ve been getting the Word deep into my spirit, I have had an energy I didn’t expect to feel after those long, hard hours.  I’ve had a joy that has been very obvious to my coworkers because they have commented more than once on how I’ve been acting this week.  It is GOD and ALL GOD.  All of the praise goes to HIM alone!

Leave a Reply

