Conquering my to-do list

A few weeks ago, I posted about what all I managed to get done on my day off.  A fellow blogger commented about how much I manage to get done after working some 12 hour shifts.  There is a method to my “madness,” as you can see here:

While waiting on my 50-year-old body to loosen up in the morning before doing my workout, I will start tackling my to-do list. After my work out, I need to cool down before showering, so once again, I work on tasks that don’t require a whole lot of physical activity.  It might be washing the dishes or making my facial cleanser while cooling down. If you stay focused, it is amazing what you can accomplish in only 15-20 minutes!

Before starting school stuff with my dd, I might get something baking in the oven so I can still multi-task while working with her on school.

If you could hear the talk going on inside my head, you’d probably laugh at me! It’s all part of being a multi-tasker. My brain is constantly thinking of ways to get as much accomplished as quickly and easily as possible. When I work weekends, and things are slower, I will bring things from home to do — like menu planning, making a grocery list, balancing our checkbooks, home school planning, etc. That way, when I am home, I have more freedom to be present in body AND spirit.

Move forward to this week’s day off:

  • did laundry
  • boiled 3.5 pounds of chicken breasts
  • had my yearly OB/gyn check-up (come back in a few days to hear a hilarious story from that day, as well as a huge turnaround with hot flashes)
  • went to the bank
  • went to two grocery stores
  • worked out
  • made smoothies
  • made banana bread
  • got my clothes ready for the next 3 days
  • got evening meals planned out/written out for dh and dd for when I would be working two 12-hour shifts,
  • took a nap
  • washed dishes at least four times
  • did Bible study

This is my weekend off work.  I did the main thing on my to-do list:  I SLEPT IN!  And I also took a nap this afternoon.  I also cleaned out the pantry closet this evening.  I wish I would have taken a before and after picture.  It looks FANTASTIC!!!

Now, I have to admit, I feel a huge sense of accomplishment when I can tackle my to-do lists, especially when those lists are really long.  However, check back tomorrow to see how my multi-tasking came back to “bite” me.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

